houzz icon

Hardwood Species

About Appalachian Hardwood Species

Hardwood lumber from the Appalachian region are known the world over for consistency of grain and color characteristics in a broad variety of species, a fact that distinguishes these fine hardwoods from all others.  Grain patterns and colors of hardwoods from other regions and countries can vary greatly.  Continuity and consistency make Appalachian hardwoods renowned for superior quality, utility and cost savings to users.

Appalachian hardwoods are also easier to work, are readily machined, turned, shaped, and carved.  The lumber sands, polishes, stains, and holds paint or stain better than most others and have all the intrinsic beauty, integrity, and versatility of hardwoods…plus the unique benefits that result from being grown in nature’s perfect tree garden – Appalachia.

Virtually all hardwood species in America grow in the Appalachian region, but 12 of these are by far the most in demand.  They are Ash, Basswood, Beech, Birch, Cherry, Hickory, Hard Maple, Soft Maple, Red Oak, White Oak, Poplar, and Walnut. All 12 are readily available from AHMI Producers (sawmills) and Distributors (concentration yards) throughout the region.

Appalachian Hardwood Species

Select a species to learn more.